Linux, Linux and lots of Linux

Having a great holiday now. And busy with my most favourite things, coding and Linux.

Heard a lot about Ubuntu.So now trying it out. I have been using KDE for the last 5 or more years. But with Ubuntu its GNOME. And I must say, GNOME is good,though I still believe KDE looks somewhat better. I will soon post an article on how to make your Ubuntu GNOME desktop look like MAC OSX. Keep waiting.

As for my experience with ubuntu,it has been good.

Initially there were some hiccups. I wasn’t able to configure my dsl modem because my provider had given the installation file in a rpm package but ubuntu is debian based. Anyway, the command is pppoeconf. This sets up your dsl modem. Updating and installing packages are a breeze with the Synaptic package manger. However I have not been able to configure my nvidia ge force 4 graphics card. I will manage that soon and will post the whole procedure on this blog. The best thing about Ubuntu is the online community. Its really helpful. Solutions to problems get posted in hours. Earlier with Fedora Core and OpenSuse, I had to hunt down the solutions for hours on the web. But not in Ubuntu. Someone had already faced that problem, found the solution and will happily share it with you on the forum.

I am really looking forward to trying out Beryl on Ubuntu. Once I configure my graphics card I will. Another thing I want to try out is XGL. It seems promising.

Oh yes, I will soon come out with an article on WinFS. I will also detail what plans the Linux community has to answer it.

Let me know what you think

